Annnd Cue the Insomnia

Fuck me. It’s two am and I’m wide awake. Only I’m not. My brain is going a million miles an hour but my eyes are so heavy. The thing is, every time I close them my mind races even faster. So I’m writing. On my phone. At two friggin am. Grrrr.

Normally I take melatonin to combat my bouts of insomnia but I thought I was tired enough to sleep without it. Yeah. Not so much.

Melatonin helps me sleep by making the sleepy factor outweigh the brain won’t shut the fuck up factor. For those of you who are unfamiliar with melatonin, it’s a natural sleep aid that encourages the body to relax. It naturally occurs in.. guess what.. turkey! Now those Thanksgiving day naps make sense, don’t they? It’s not always effective for everyone, just like any other medication, but it works wonders for me as I don’t do well with most sleep aids. But I need to take it when I know I can get 6-8 hours of sleep. And I need to be up at 6 am. Four hours from now. Soooo if I take it now, I won’t be able to wake up on time. Not cool.

I have kiddos to get to school, an appointment to get to, an English project to finish, two papers to write, and a math test to do some last min cramming for before I actually take the test at 2 pm. Oh, I have to eat in there somewhere too.

Screw what I said earlier about worrying about being on break. I need a break if for no other reason than to catch up on sleep. I think I’ll allow myself two days of being a lump before I get on with my to do list. I deserve it.

2 thoughts on “Annnd Cue the Insomnia

  1. Zopiclone 7.5 is a great sleeper, if you feel you want one. If you happen to be on American shores I know it’s not available there, but zopiclone is v similar to Lunestra. It’s the ONLY sleeping pill that works PROPERLY in a 1-pill dosage. Most of the others just make me feel a bit rubbery and I end up watching television late into the night NOT FEELING SLEEPY. Ukh.
    They talk about “decreased need for sleep” but it’s quite possible to have some decreased need for sleep and a deal more straight insomnia. Most definitely ~~ YOU know what I mean, don’t you… πŸ™‚ 😦 πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks for the tip! I’ve never tried lunestra before. The melatonin works great for me, but if I should ever need to try something else, I will try that for sure. And yes, I am on American soil. I can’t say shores because I’m in the Midwest. No oceans near me. There is a lake though. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

