Mommies are for Pwning Noobs

I’ve never been big into the Call of Duty series. Maybe it’s because they’re violent. Maybe it’s because they’re so popular. Or maybe it has something to do with the fact that my ex used to let my children play them, including our youngest who was all of 4 years old at the time.  When your kids start bragging about how many head shots they got or they start looking at tall buildings as possible sniper spots, it tends to turn a mom off from a product. Hell any responsible parent for that matter. Regardless of the reason, the games have been banned in our house for years.
Until recently, that is. Santa decided that the teenager was responsible enough to get a game that had been requested more times than I care to count.

Then came the question I hadn’t considered. “Will you play with me mom?” I protested at first, still stuck on my extreme dislike of the game. Then I realized it might be a good way to connect with her. We have a pretty amazing relationship as is, but I’m always looking for ways to keep the bonds between the kids and I strong. So I agreed to play.

The first couple times, she flattened me in the blink of an eye. Being that she’s played the game before and I’m a “total noob”, I wasn’t surprised. Then our scores got closer and closer together. I was pretty excited that I was getting better. In the last round we played, I actually beat her! She then decided it was time for me to play online. Boy, was that a pain in the ass. My new-found video game ego was flattened in about 5 seconds.

Even though I left the game with my tail between my legs, I still had a great time with my kid. I let her teach me something new. We had fun trash talking each other. Most of all, we spent quality time together and had a chance to connect one on one. Plus, I had a chance to blow off some steam. Sometimes, playing a game you can’t stand with your kid is totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

