I Get by with a Little Help from My Friends

I woke up this morning and got on Facebook only to get all riled up. One of my friends posted this article about a dad who took a pay cut to maintain his childcare benefits. I saw it as a perfect opportunity to counter some posts that other people on my friends list have been posting lately. Along with a link to the article, I posted the following response.

This is a real problem. I know many people who have encountered this exact same issue.

The system is there for people like him, hard-working people who truly need the help. The problem is, the system is broken. Once you reach those income limits, you often find yourself even worse off than when you first needed the help.

I would have done the same thing as this man. If you have a problem with that, please let me know and unfriend me. I’m tired of hearing “friends” of mine talk down about people who use these programs. I am one of those people.

I am disabled, going to school, and raising my children. I’m doing what I can to secure a good job that won’t leave me stuck in this man’s predicament. If doing what I feel it’s best for my children and myself is something that you don’t agree with, then, plain and simple, please take a long walk off a short pier.

I will no longer keep quiet when I hear my “friends” talk down about those on assistance. Walk a mile in my shoes, in his shoes, in the vast majority of people on assistance shoes, and you will see our intent is not to take advantage of anything, rather we’re trying to survive and thrive. Just the same as everyone else…

Leave a Reply

