Happy World Has Bipolar Day! Or Something…

So today (well technically yesterday) is world bipolar day! Yay! And this clearly means that us bipolars have now successfully succeeded in contaminating the rest of the population. Pandemic status has officially been reached. Achievement unlocked!

image

Wait what?  That’s not what this is about? Pshhh nuh uh. I know my bipolar. I know how this goes. We get bipolar, we infect the world, we get manic and try to take over the world Pinky and The Brain style. It’s the master plan.

Are you seriously trying to tell me that world bipolar day is to raise awareness about bipolar disorder? To dispel the stigma and prejudices against those who have it. That it’s not contagious and bipolar people don’t want to take over the world? Mmhmmm. Sure.

Yes I know that 10-20% of people with bipolar disorder attempt suicide. And that most of the general population isn’t aware that manic depression and bipolar disorder are one in the same. It’s true that most people who suffer don’t get diagnosed until their mid twenties, leaving them at greater risk for issues in their teens. I’m aware that if we had better mental health services and the general populace was more knowledgeable of the condition, our triggers and symptoms might be noticed more often, potentially keeping us safer.

Why do you think we want to take over the world? If everyone has bipolar, they’ll finally get it, right? Well… actually, I don’t want everyone to go through what I do. I just want to be loved and accepted. To have people around me who will support me and look out for me. Who will care enough to know my triggers and signs that I might be spiraling out of control. I want love, support, acceptance and medical care that doesn’t leave me feeling like a pariah. Just like everyone else. Is that too much to ask?

Leave a Reply

